Fees and Expenses
California legislation requires the College to charge student enrollment fees. Student fees for 2022-2023 are:
- Enrollment fee of $46 per unit for students meeting California residency requirements;
- $35 parking permit, $20 for summer sessions;
- $23 health service fee, $18 for summer sessions;
- $26 College Service Charge*, $15 for summer sessions;
- $2 Student Representation Fee** for fall semester, spring semester, and summer sessions;
- Material fees as listed in the current class schedule.
* The College Service Charge provides services and benefits, which include OCC Bookstore buyback, Robert B. Moore Theater discounts, free tutoring, interest-free emergency loans, student events and activities, and legal advice. Students may present their request to waive the College Service Charge to the Student Life & Leadership Department prior to the earliest refund deadline for the student’s enrolled classes. Please contact the Student Life & Leadership Department by email at email@example.com or telephone at (714) 432-5730 for more information.
** The Student Representation Fee is divided between the Associated Students of Orange Coast College (ASOCC) and the recognized statewide community college student organization, Student Senate of the California Community Colleges (SSCCC) to provide support for governmental affairs representatives from the two organizations who may be stating their positions and viewpoints before city, county, state and/or federal government. The Student Representation Fee cannot be used to support individual candidates or campaigns. Students have the right to waive this fee by submitting a request to the Enrollment Center prior to the earliest refund deadline for the student’s enrolled classes. For questions about the waiver, contact the Enrollment Center by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or telephone at (714) 432-5072
Students who do not meet California residency requirements are required to pay a non-resident fee of $319 per unit and a Capital Outlay fee of $42 per unit in addition to the Resident fee of $46 per unit, for a grand total of $407 per unit.
All fees quoted are at time of publication and are subject to change without notice. The state legislature may increase enrollment fees at any time including current and future terms.
Student Health Service Fee
Student Health Center services include no-cost visits with doctors, registered nurses, and the mental health team, in addition to other services at reduced rates.
The health service fee is a state-mandated fee unless students present a waiver prior to registration. Those eligible for a waiver are:
- Students who depend exclusively upon prayer for healing in accordance with the teachings of a bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization.
- Students enrolled in courses of two weeks or less duration.
- Students enrolled only in non-credit courses.
- Students enrolled only in study abroad programs.
- High school students enrolled in dual enrollment (OCC courses taken at the high school) and Career Access Pathway (CCAP) agreements.
- Students enrolled in an approved apprenticeship training program.
- Students who are incarcerated.
A registered student may purchase a parking permit for $35 each semester and $20 for the summer session. The permit is valid at Orange Coast College, Golden West College and Coastline Community College. The College utilizes a third party vendor, NuPark/Passport (T2) for parking permit purchases.
Parking spaces are available on a first-come, first-served basis. The Coast Community College District and Orange Coast College accept no liability for vandalism, theft or accidents; students use the parking facilities at their own risk.
For more information, complete parking rules and regulations are available at the campus safety office in Parking Lot C (714) 432-5017.
Student Photo ID Cards are required for use in the Bookstore, Library, offices and for other transactions with the College. This card may be used in succeeding semesters when the student is enrolled. Students will be required to replace any lost, stolen or unusable card.
Instructional Materials Fees
In accordance with regulations of the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, Title 5, California Administrative Code, Section 59400 et seq., the Coast Community College District shall provide free of charge to students all instructional materials, except for the following materials which the student may purchase from the district at cost or may be provided through the student’s own means.
- Optional Instructional Materials: Materials used to enhance the student’s learning experience in the classroom, but that are not essential to the completion of course objectives.
- Required Instructional Materials: Materials required to complete the objectives of the course and that are tangible property of continuing value outside the classroom which the student will retain.
The College shall have the discretion to either charge or not charge a fee for instructional materials of the types indicated above. Such fees will cover actual district costs.