Fees and Expenses
$46 per unit1
Enrollment Fee is subject to change by the State Legislature.
Student Health Service Fee
$26 per semester for fall and spring; $18 for summer session. This is a mandated fee unless the student presents a waiver.
Those eligible for a waiver are:
- Students who depend solely on prayer for healing in accordance with the teachings of a bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization. For further information, call (714) 895-8379.
- Students who are enrolled only in courses of less than two weeks duration.
College Service Charge
$20 per semester for fall and spring. $12 for summer session. This charge underwrites many student services and campus programs. The College Administration and Student Council encourage students to support the campus community by paying this non-mandatory fee.
A portion ($1.00) of each $20, funds student scholarships. Information about specific programs funded by this charge and requests for a waiver of the College Services Charge are available during posted business hours in the Office of Campus Life. The request to waive the College Services Charge must be secured in advance prior to the student’s payment of registration fees. The period to obtain this waiver is between the date class schedules are available online through the last day to enroll in the regular school semester. This fee is subject to change. For further information call Campus Life at (714) 895-8261.
Student Representation Fee
$2 per semester for fall, spring, and summer. One dollar ($1.00) will go to the campus and one dollar ($1.00) will go to support the operations of a statewide community college student organization for the purposes of providing student government representatives the means to state their positions and viewpoints before city, county, district, State, and federal government as well as other public agencies on behalf of the student body. The request to waive the Student Representation Fee must be secured in advance prior to the student's payment of registration fees. The period to obtain this waiver is between the date class schedules are available online through the last day to enroll in the regular school semester. For further information contact Campus Life at (714)895-8261.
$381 per unit + $31 per unit Nonresident Capital Outlay. Students who are not California residents as defined by the Education Code are required to pay the non-resident tuition fee and nonresident capital outlay fee, in addition to the fees described above. Please note that it is the student’s responsibility to prove that they are a California resident. Additional information can be found: https://www.goldenwestcollege.edu/enrollment/admissions/residency/index.html
In accordance with regulations of the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, Title 5, California Administrative Code, Section 59400 et seq., the Coast Community College District shall provide free of charge to students all instructional materials, except for materials which the District Board of Trustees has approved as required materials for a particular course. The student must purchase these materials from the College at the District cost. The Board has approved such fees because these materials are required to complete the objectives of the course and they are tangible property of continuing value outside the classroom which the student will retain as their own property.
Textbooks, manuals and other supplies are the responsibility of the student and may cost up to $1000 per semester depending on program. Required items are available at the Golden West College Bookstore. Check with the Bookstore for refund, exchange and buyback policies https://www.goldenwestcollege.edu/home/bookstore/
Zero Cost Course Materials Sections
These course sections exclusively use digital or other instructional materials that are free of charge to students and may have a low-cost option for print versions for students who prefer this format. Please note there may still be other non-textbook mandatory costs associated with some of these sections (e.g. scantrons, scientific calculators, laboratory materials and/or supplies, etc.). Under some circumstances, faculty may have to adjust selection of instructional materials and this can affect student costs. It may also be necessary to replace instructors scheduled to teach sections. Faculty have academic freedom to choose instructional materials regardless of costs and are not obligated to use free course materials selected by previous instructor. These lists might be updated throughout the registration period. For additional information please contact faculty assigned to teach Zero Cost Digital Textbook sections or division deans.
Housing, transportation, food and other living costs are the responsibility of the student. Golden West College does not operate dormitories or any off-campus housing. A housing referral service is available online and on the GWC Mobile App. The referral lists are not approved, inspected, or in any way supervised by the college. Additional details can be found: https://www.goldenwestcollege.edu/isp/Housing/index.html
Registration Fee Payment Procedure
Registration fees are due immediately after registration occurs. Students will be dropped for non-payment in accordance with the Drop for Non-Payment schedule posted on the college website. Visit https://www.goldenwestcollege.edu/enrollment/admissions/deadlines/ for specific payment deadlines. Golden West College does not bill for unpaid registration balances and students will be dropped according to the drop schedule. Please check the Third Party Tuition payment plan and/or financial aid to assist with needs related to meeting the payment deadline.
Effective Spring 2022:
The Coast District updated our Drop for Non-Payment policy beginning with the Intersession/Spring 2022 registration cycle. Students with an unpaid balance of $25 or more must pay their fees prior to the scheduled drop for non-payment date. https://www.goldenwestcollege.edu/enrollment/admissions/deadlines/
Important: Students who enroll in classes after the final drop for non-payment or enroll after the term begins will not be dropped BUT will incur a financial obligation to the college AND a hold will be placed on their record if payment is not received. This hold will block future registration (adds, drops, withdrawals), grades, diplomas, or verification of enrollment until all fees are paid. Any unpaid balances could be forwarded to a Collection agency which will incur additional costs.
Fee Payment Methods
Students can conveniently pay fees online by credit card via their MyCoastPortal. Cash and checks may be accepted on a limited basis in the Bursar’s Office, located in the Student Services Center.
Financial Aid Payments
Students who are having difficulty finding resources to pay fees should visit the Financial Aid website at http://www.goldenwestcollege.edu/gwcfao/ for information on fee waivers, grants and student loans.
California College Promise Grant (CCPG)
This grant only covers enrollment fees. Students with a CCPG must pay the required health fee, College Service Charge and materials fees. Not paying these fees prior to the semester start may result in a student being dropped from their classes.
If a student believes they are receiving CCPG but it has not posted to the student account in MyCoast portal, contact the Financial Aid Office immediately. Payment for the total balance due is required to avoid being dropped. If the total balance is paid, the student will receive a refund for the per unit charge once the CCPG is posted to their registration account.
If a student will be receiving a scholarship to help pay for their tuition, please contact the Admissions & Records immediately after registering for classes to avoid being dropped, (714) 895-8306. Students may also need to contact the Financial Aid Office with outside scholarship information so arrangements for payment can be made with Golden West College.
Third Party Payments
If a student's tuition is going to be paid by a Third Party, i.e. Boeing, CA Department of Rehabilitation, Vocation Rehab or Tuition Assistance, once the student has registered in classes, please submit the paperwork to the Admissions & Records Office immediately to avoid being dropped for non-payment. (714) 895-8306.
If a student is receiving Chapter 33 Post 9/11 or Chapter 31 Vocational Rehabilitation & Employment educational benefits, please contact Veterans Services immediately after registering and prior to payment. Students may be eligible to have some or all of the fees deferred. For additional information, call (714) 895-8140. Please see the website for more information: https://www.goldenwestcollege.edu/enrollment/admissions/vet-students/index.html
Third Party Payment Plan with Cashnet
Cashnet is a company that will break your balance down into three payments, the first being the day you sign-up. The other two payments are spread throughout the semester. When you sign up for the Payment Plan you must enter your total amount due for the registration term or your plan will not be valid, and all courses including waitlisted courses will be dropped. Balances due from prior terms cannot be added to a current Payment Plan. Click "View payment plan options" and then enter your balance into the "Plan amount" box. (To find your balance click here: How to find your class schedule/web schedule bill.) Please click on this link to start: Cashnet Payment Portal
To be Eligible for a Refund
Students must officially withdraw from classes by the refund deadline (Refer to the Student Class Program/Web Schedule Bill in the Registration Tools box in the MyCoastPortal. It is the student’s responsibility to officially withdraw from classes and to verify all withdrawals. An instructor may drop students for non-attendance. Instructors are not responsible for making sure drops are made by the refund deadline. If the student has not been dropped from the class by the instructor, the student is responsible for withdrawing from the class by the refund deadline. Students who are officially enrolled in a class after the refund deadline will not be eligible for a refund. Please check the Student Class Program/Web Schedule Bill to ensure that refund deadlines listed are met. Excused Withdrawals (EW) are not eligible for refunds. Once it is past the refund deadline Golden West College is no longer able to offer refunds to students who drop their courses. There are no exceptions to this policy under Title 5.
Refunds will be automatically processed every week beginning the first week of registration of the semester in which the fees were paid and each week thereafter until the end of the term. Official withdrawals made in accordance with the refund policy and by the withdrawal deadline will generate a credit balance on the student’s account.
Online Credit Card Payment Refunds
Registration fee payments made by credit card through the MyCoastPortal will be refunded to the same credit card used for payment. Allow 6-10 business days for the refund to post. If the Credit Card used to pay fees is no longer valid, it is the student’s responsibility to notify the Admissions & Records once the credit has been posted to the student’s account and prior to the refund being processed. The refund will be converted to a check refund upon proper notification.
All requests for review of account summary must be made within the one-year grace period from the semester in which the fees were assessed. Such petitions are subject to review.
In Person Payment Refunds
Fee payments paid in person, by cash, check, money order or credit card, will be refunded through Bank Mobile as either a check, mailed to the mailing address Admissions and Records has on file, direct deposit to an existing bank account or to a Bank Mobile account depending on the refund choice made by the student. It is the responsibility of the student to maintain correct and up-to-date address information. Addresses can be updated on MyCoastPortal under "Update Personal Information".
Refund vendor subject to change during catalog year.
Important: Payments made using multiple payment methods (online credit card payments and cash, check or money order) during the current registration period will be refunded to the credit card used for online payments.
Cancelled Classes: If Golden West College cancels a class, registration fees for that class will be refunded.
Returned Checks: Any check returned unpaid (stop payment or insufficient funds) does not constitute automatic withdrawal from class. A check returned from the bank for any reason is subject to a $25 service charge. A hold will be placed on student records for any financial obligation, until the obligation is cleared.
$30 per semester and $15 for the summer session (both subject to change). A current Golden West College Parking Permit is required to park a vehicle in campus parking lots. Permits may be purchased on-line by logging in to the student portal (MyCoastPortal) or via the college’s website. When purchasing a Student Semester Parking Permit or using the Daily Permit Dispensers the buyer will be required to enter their vehicle’s license plate number when prompted. The permit is then registered to that vehicle and there is no paper or sticker to display on the vehicle. Mechanical permit dispenser machines are available in each parking lot for parking by the day at a cost of $5 per day. These dispensers are located at the entrances to the campus in each of the main parking lots. Students and visitors may also utilize the cellphone app to purchase an hourly or daily parking permit. Coin operated parking meters are available for use at $0.25 per each 15 minutes for a maximum stay of 2 hours.
Parking citations are issued in cooperation with the West Orange County Municipal Court. These citations, if ignored, will affect future vehicle registration privileges with the California DMV. An academic hold will also be placed on the student’s CCCD account until the citation has been paid.
Library Fine Policy
Students are encouraged to return library materials on time in order to avoid fines, possible registration holds and/or loss of library privileges. Fines are assessed for weekends, holidays, and during library hours since books can be returned 24 hours a day. An after-hours book return is located at the front entrance of the Learning Resources Center (LRC).
The fine rates are $0.25/item/day for books from the general collection, $0.50/hour for reserve materials, and $6/day for media items. Bills for replacement costs and processing fees will be issued. Library fines and fees should be paid at the Public Services Desk. The Library only accepts cash, checks, or money orders.
When a book is lost, the Public Services librarian will determine the replacement cost of the item.
All fees are subject to change during the academic year.