Academic Catalogs

Information Technology Security, Certificate of Specialization

Banner Code: 1_CE_ITS

Not Financial Aid Eligible

Completion of this certificate will enable students to acquire the skills needed by professionals in information and communication technologies to prevent, discover, and resolve network security incidents. This career is an emerging IT-related career that sees high demand and growth. 

Program Outcome

Students who receive the Information Technology Security Certificate of Achievement will be able to discover and prevent network security incidents. This skillset is vital for jobs as IT security administrator, IT security analyst, network administrator, network engineer, technical/desktop support technician, and help desk technician/analyst

Certificate of Specialization Requirements

The Certificate of Specialization is a locally approved career program that requires sixteen units or fewer units and is designed to prepare the graduate to enter a particular field of employment.  In order to be awarded a certificate, students are required to obtain a grade of “C” or better in all program-required courses. Grades of “CR” or “P” will be accepted whereas “CR” or “P” meets the equivalency of a “C” or better.  At least 3 units in an advanced course from the certificate must be completed at OCC at the department’s discretion.  Certificates of Specialization are not automatically awarded, not printed on official academic transcripts, and there is no acknowledgment of completion given at graduation.  Please contact the division for details regarding the submission of petitions as procedures for each division vary.  Most division offices prefer that students complete all of the required courses and then provide a copy of the transcript while some divisions allow petitions for Certificates of Specialization before finishing.  Check with a counselor to determine the requirements for completion.

A list of certificate programs can be found in the Programs A-Z section of this catalog.  

Course Title Units
Required Courses
CHT A162Fundamentals of Information Security3
CHT A282Ethical Hacking and Network Defense3
Total Units6